Hello world!

Hello!!! This is my very first blog and its all because I am going to The Gambia in west Africa for the Peace Corps Agriculture/Crop-Extension.

Before you all ask, let me just say, I don’t quite know what I will be doing when I get down there. Something about crops, sustainable living, and improvements and innovation in small scale food production. But that could mean anything.

There are nine other volunteers in my cohort so  I won’t be by myself.

Here’s the low down and timeline for my departure until my arrival in The Gambia:

April 2015: Applied for position

Early May 2015: Interviewed for position

May 11, 2015: Got the position and had to pull over and squeal with delight.

May-August: Medical-dentist, doctors, and physicals oh my!!!

August 16, 2015: Finally got my medicals clearance and that means I’m on my way!!

Late August-Nov: All work and no play makes Krystin a dull girl so I decided to have some fun that I’ll elaborate on in another post

Oct 10: Depart to some major city on the east coast that I won’t know of until around Nov 10th and get oriented left, right, and sideways.

2-3 days later: 20 hr flight to the Gambia!!!

Map of The Gambia

Images from World Atlas

October whenever-until January-ish-ish-ish: 3 months of language, cultural immersion, and technical training of some kind while living in a compound with a host family and the other volunteers in my cohort.

January-somethingish-to infinity and beyond: Plopped in a village….

One thought on “Hello world!

Leave a Reply

