The Great Airport Adventure

I was finally able to begin my journey toward Peace Corps and at the rate things were going I was beginning to wonder if my journey getting to Peace Corps is gonna be more difficult than serving.

When I got to Flint airport on Friday (10/2)  my bags were overweight and had to leave some items behind. Even after losing 16lbs one of my bags was over but that’s okay because my mom and sister can just mail them to me.

Thanks mom for paying the fee for overweight bags!!!!!

It was a smooth 1.5 hour flight from Flint to Chicago and then the trouble started

Here’s what was supposed to happen

-10a.m. 11:30 a.m.-flint to Chicago 1.5 hours

-11:45 2:40.m.- Chicago to Philadelphia 2 hours

-Philly, PA to Aunt & uncles house 1.5 hours

-Relax

So this should have been a six hour adventure with the day winding down around 5. here’s what actually happened

-10a.m. 11:30 a.m.-Flint to Chicago 1.5 hours

-11:45 2:40.m.- Chicago to Philadelphia 2 hours

-11:45- 12:30 Delay

-12:45- Woman leaves her bag unattended & because she forgot her credit card

-1pm- man reports unattended bag to TSA

-1:15- TSA brings in the cutest drug/bomb Chocolate Lab

-1.20- bags confiscated and I have no idea what happened after that

(still delayed by the way)

-1:20-2:30 -Delay man begins to scream about attendant while I eat a cookie

-2:30-3: I go for a walk and buy sugar free gum without aspartame, who knew

-3-5-Still delayed and I spend more money food

-6-8:10 We finally board and take off and I arrive in Philly

I would like to thank Hurricane Joaquin. You may not have hit the U.S. but that didn’t stop you from sucking.

Air traffic control in Philadelphia grounded all planes that were taking off or landing.

That translated into a 6 hour delay and $30 in airport food that I didn’t plan on spending.

Airport Salmon flat bread pizza was so worth $12-I'll probably never buy it again.
Airport Salmon flat bread pizza was so worth $12-I’ll probably never buy it again.
Leave a Reply

